top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatey T

The New World of Graphic Design

Updated: Oct 17, 2021

I did not know I wanted to be a graphic designer for quite a long time, but I chose this career path shortly before I graduated senior year of high school. I was not sure what all it entailed or what all of the kinds of graphic designers there even were. This year, I am taking my first graphic design class where I was able to expand on the different types of graphic design. I was amazed by all of the various options and paths I could take.


There is advertising, branding and identity design, corporate communication design, editorial design, environmental design, illustration, information design, interaction/experience design, mobile design, motion design, package design, promotional design, and typographic design. These types of design vary, so many options are available for me to decide to pursue. If I don't like one thing, I may try another. I have found art to be closely related with trial and error.


I was able narrow down a few that I did not think I would be interested in, and I found a handful I thought I may like. Learning a lot about Adobe Illustrator from class, it is helping me see what I enjoy doing and what I may find more boring. I found typography to be a fun challenge, and I liked it more than I expected to. Choosing fonts and deciding how to make the typography resemble the word required a lot of thought and experimentation. It was exciting when I would find a font similar to what I was searching for and to reposition the letters.


Even though I have not really worked with branding design, I thought that one may be a good fit for me as well. It seems like a fun challenge to work with different kinds of products and come up with a fun design that is appropriate for the brand or entity. Since I enjoyed typography, there would also probably be a mix of that in there as well, which could make it a perfect fit for me.


There is a lot of room for improvement for me to continue to grow my skills with using Adobe. For this class, I am really opening my mind to new ideas and exploring the endless possibilities. I had not realized there were so many different ways I could use and enhance my artistic abilities as a graphic designer. I had not used Adobe before this class, so it is a whole new exciting but challenging world.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page